Sicilian Match Poker Championships 2017

The Sicilian Match Poker Championships took place in the four months between February and May

2017 comprising of a series of Match Poker qualification tournaments throughout the provinces of

Palermo, Ragusa, Syracuse, Catania and Messina. A total of more than 300 players from 50 towns took

part in the championships, which concluded with the semi-finals and final at the beach town of Capo

Mulini (Catania) on 20th May 2017. It was a tremendously successful series and IFP is very grateful for

the hard work and dedication shown by its Italian member FIGP for organising and hosting the events,

and its technical team working tirelessly from Hyderabad, India in support. The championships

proved to be an immensely valuable beta test of IFP’s new Match Poker app that will now be launched

in both Android and iOS versions later this summer.

Sicilian Match Poker Championships – Final Results:

The prize for the winning team from Syracuse is a Champions League Final Experience (flights from

Italy to the UK, accommodation, transportation + tickets to see Juventus vs Real Madrid in the

Champions League Final in Cardiff on 3 rd June 2017).

The winning team:

Benedetto Drago, Luca Cocola, Andrea Floresta, Piergiorgio Cocola , Giuseppe Zagami & Angelo Drago.

(Substitutes: Antonino Ognibene, Paolo Listro)

Sweden Becomes a Member of the IFP Family

The Swedish Poker Federation (Svepof) was founded in 2004. Svepof is a non profit organization working to improve the conditions for poker in Sweden. This is done mainly by promoting poker, work against prejudice of poker, work with legislator to get the best possible legislation around poker and by working with limiting the problems with problem playing. With numerous registered players in more than 50 poker clubs, IFP is very excited to welcome Sweden to the family by formally accepting their membership application.

Their online presence is as follows:

Chairman – Ulf Engstrom

Secretary – Mickey Torstenssen

Treasury – Daniel Olsson

Austrian National Poker League Kicks-Off

This past weekend saw the first round of the official 2016 Austrian National Poker League take place in lower Austria.

The President of the Austrian PokerSport Association, Martin Sturc and the President of the National Poker League, Jakob Enders introduced the new and improved format to the eager crowd of twelve club teams who will battle for glory this season.

The winning team will also have the privilege to attend a three-day poker camp hosted by two of Austria’s top online poker players.

The Austrian Poker Sport Association also introduced the Austrian Poker Cup which will see nine teams play club vs. club in a heads-up format.

More Information can be found under and

Lithuanian Sports Poker Federation Kick-Off 2016 Campaign

On 18-20 of March 2016, the Lithuanian Sports Poker Federation (LSPF) have started their new season with an opening tournament in Vilnius, at sports poker club ‘Du Karaliai’ (‘Two Kings’).

After the legislation changes toward gambling, including internet poker in Lithuania, for the first time in sports poker history the federation started the year without any major sponsorship – as previous sponsor UNIBET could not continue their activities in Lithuania. The responsibility to host this event was taken by the biggest sports poker club ‘Du Karaliai’, and it succeeded – the tournament was held just a week before Easter and it attracted 207 players from all over Lithuania!

After two days of fighting it out on the felt, 22 players advanced to the final day, and after four hours of intense poker play, 9 players formed the final table. During the final table two new records were set: its never happened since 2010 (the first federation tournament), that two women made it to the top 3. And the second one – the winner, Matas Levanas, a young player from Vilnius, has won his third LSPF tournament – in 2014 he became the Champion of Poker in Lithuania, the next year, he won the same event in Vilnius (he also won Player of The Year), and 2016 again – the walls of sports poker club Du Karaliai were nice to him. Matas once again proved – poker is a mind sport and a game of skill!

During the tournament, one of the country’s biggest Internet poker providers – OLYBET has announced their sponsorship intentions for next three years.


Macedonian National Poker Championship

Last month finished the Macedonian Online Winter League with 43 participants from all over Macedonia of which

5 were females. After 20 tournaments (3000 chips and 10 minutes blinds) the winner was the biggest

surprise of the season, the young female MAGDALENA TENEVSKA! The secret of her success was the

14 finale tables she made from 20 tournaments! Uncertainty about who is going to win the competition was on until the final few

hands of the last tournament when Magdalena finished 4th and with the new 2.75 points she overtook the leader

of the general standings Slave Jovanovski who was eliminated in 11th place earlier on. The leader of the first part

of the league, before the Orthodox Christmas break, Spas Klenkovski finished second which gave him 3rd place

in the overall standings. Here are the final overall standings:

  1. Magdalena Tenevska     42.12
  2. Slave Jovanovski            40.58
  3. Spase Klenkovski            39.63
  4. Stole Filipovski                37.97
  5. Jovanco Jovanovski       37.36
  6. Daniel Stefanovski          31.93
  7. Zoran Jordanov               31.91
  8. Andrej Jordanoski          25.21
  9. Dimitar Petrov                18.35
  10. Ivan Panev                       18.12

There are secured awards from the sponsors for the top 5 players of the league and the Winner of the winter league, Magdalena Tenevska, will join the LIVE final table on which are waiting following seven players (qualified from the previous Macedonian poker championships):

1. Vojkan Krstevski

2. Martin Jovcevski

3. Aleksandar Jovanovski

4. Kristijan Lekovski

5. Kristijan Zlatevski

6. Goce Bocevski

7. Goce Lusheski

The winner of this live final table will join the Macedonian team for the next Nations Cup Final to be organised by IFP!

The best eight players from the last year’s online competitions for the Macedonian Cup will soon form the LIVE final table to compete for the trophy which will change its owner every year!