Johannes Schubert and Team Königsbrunnn win German championship

DPSB_HeadUp_Teammeisterschaft_12052013_Pokerverein_KoenigsbrunnAt the end of Season 4 of DPSB’s ‘HeadsUp Team League’ Hanover hosted this year’s final playoffs on May 10-12. For the first time ever the official German federation also crowned Germany’s champion in individual poker. In its team variation 12 pre-qualified teams across the country competed for the title of team champion.

Starting with the individual championship on Friday, each of DPSB’s associated clubs were allowed to nominate up to four players, which resulted into a diverse number of 69 participants from 24 different clubs. Due to the unique event structure game play lasted until 2am in the morning until Germany had his first official poker champion: Johannes Schubert from Pokerclub “All In” Winsen (Luhe) e.V. It was his final hand of AK which beat challenger Suksan “Suki” Atsha Ria from SV Arminia Hanover who had 10’s.

On Saturday the playoffs of DPSB’s team championship started with the following 12 teams participating in four groups out of three: 1. Pokerverein Königsbrunn, THC Mönchengladbach, Poker Bären Berlin, Black Bullets Berlin, Poker Piranhas Hamburg, All In Poker Hannover, Hot River Amberg, SV Arminia Hannover, Bad Beat Bremerhaven, High 5 Holdem Düsseldorf, River Kings Hof, and 89 suited Poker München. At midnight a winner of each of the four groups was found to compete in a semi final on Sunday.

In each of the two matches between High 5 Holdem Düsseldorf vs. Hot River Amberg and 1. Pokerverein Königsbrunn vs. Black Bullets Berlin, the Bavarian teams won through to the final. With Team Berlin, who made it to the podium, it was a much closer battle between the two finalists, from which 1. Pokerverein Königsbrunn with player Daniel Biederwolf, Daniel Siebenhaar, David Berger and Norbert Bachl came off as winners.