Barbados Independence Championships

On November 29th 2020, the Barbados Federation of Poker launched their poker season under the West Indies Poker Championship (WIPC) banner. Action started off with their exclusive invitational tournament which consisted of the best performers from previously held events. 

‘Emerging to the top was Dwayne Nurse, who is no stranger to the winner’s circle. In fact, prior to going into this event we were able to catch up with him in an informal interview. With a high level of confidence and a sense of conviction, Dwayne gave us an early prediction that this tournament was going to be won by him and him alone. 

After navigating through a tough field of competitors over ten hours of play, it appeared as though with his chip lead, it would be an easy road to victory. In order to do so however, he would still need to get through the skilful play of Michael and Ronald; two seasoned players in the circuit. Following some gutsy moves, Dwayne was able to come out on top with a 1st place finish, followed by Michael Atkins for 2nd and Ronald Greene for 3rd. 

Champion – Dwayne Nurse

Main Event Championship

On the following day we celebrated Independence with our Main Event Championship, which attracted a diverse group of players, all from different backgrounds coming to battle it out on the felt. With a larger group of unknowns in the foray this meant players looking to repeat their success would need to cautiously assess opponents with the idea of potentially exploiting any weaknesses that they discovered. 

Main Event Champion – Michele Cornacchia

All attempts to do this however were futile, as we saw the emergence of two new faces to the list of champions after approximately twelve hours of play. These were Michele Cornacchia from Italy who captured 1st place and Barron Helgoe from the US who captured 2nd place. Coming in strong for 3rd and 4th place respectively were Barbados’s own Kyle Albert and Gabriel Taylor who put on a good fight all the way to the end. 

(left to right Klye albert, Barron Helgoe, Michele Cornaccia, Gabriel Taylor)